Beta Zetas perform the Beta Call to conclude the celebration.

Abbott-Young Memorial Temple Reopens

John Pezdek '03, M'07

The Abbott-Young Memorial Temple has been a St. Lawrence landmark since 1926, and a source of pride and inspiration to St. Lawrence Beta Zetas and, indeed, Betas everywhere. In 2012, a Beta Zeta reunion on cam- pus drew nearly 200 alumni and was the catalyst for a temple restoration effort. In 2013, fundraising launched through the leadership of Chair Allen Splete ’60; Co-Chairs David L. Torrey ’53, E.B. Wilson ’53, the late Peter Van De Water ’58 and O. Mitchell Brown III ’78; and more than 30 class leaders. The drive drew to a close in 2015 with 370 supporters committing over $500,000, testimony to the power of mutual assistance.

As one of the cornerstone events of Homecoming 2015, over 175 Beta Zeta alumni, current brothers and St. Lawrence community members celebrated the reopening of the temple. Remarks were tendered by St. Lawrence President William L. Fox ’75, Splete, current Beta Zeta President Matthew N. Kinney ’16 and Beta Theta Pi (national) Administrative Office Editor and Director of Communication L. Martin Cobb. Attendees browsed the Beta archives and toured the temple and 25 College Street. At the conclusion, the Beta Call, which originated at St. Lawrence, rang out.

Beta Zeta will continue to hold chapter meetings in the restored space, while the University community may also reserve the temple for classes, meetings, celebrations and other purposes.

To view additional photos of the restored Abbott-Young Me- morial Temple and the celebration, please visit alumni.stlawu. edu/beta-temple-restoration-celebration.

Allen Splete '60 shows current Beta Zeta brothers shingles from the original chapter house.
The restored Abbott-Young temple is available to the entire campus community for a variety of functions.